New TAPPI Board of Directors and Officers Include Representatives from International Paper, GAF and ITW’s Pillar Technology

Elected to begin a three year term in March 2020, Andrew Jones, Mark Keaten, and Rory Wolf will join Pete Augustine and Jim Haeffele, who will serve as TAPPI Board Chair, and TAPPI Board Vice Chair, respectively.

Jones is a Senior Engineering Fellow at International Paper and most recently has been working in the implementation of analytical software across the organization. He became a TAPPI Fellow in 2016 and has been a very active member, having served as Chair of the Engineering Division, TAPPI PEERS Conference Chair, and International Chemical Recovery Conference Chair and has won multiple awards including the Engineering Division Leadership and Service Award. 

Keaten is Senior Director Operations for GAF.  Prior to joining GAF, he worked for Pasadena Paper as Plant Manager and more than 20 years in various positions including Plant Manager at Champion International. He has been an active TAPPI member since 2012, serving as chairman of the Fiberglass Mat Technology Committee (2014-2016) and won the Division Leadership and Service Award for the NET Division in 2017.

Wolf is Business Unit Manager with ITW’s Pillar Technology, and is a recognized industry expert in the field of polymer surface modification. He has 32 years of experience in the paper, packaging, and plastics industries with specific experience in flexible packaging and surface modification. He has been an active TAPPI member since 2000 and has served on the International Flexible Packaging & Extrusion Division (previously PLC, and then PLACE Division), its division council including Division Chair, and committee teams, and has won multiple awards associated with the International Flexible Packaging & Extrusion Division and conferences including the Leadership and Service award in 2004.

Jones, Keaten and Wolf will join the following directors who will continue to serve on the TAPPI Board of Directors: Garnet Bremner (Nalco Water An Ecolab Company), Carrie Enos (University of Maine Pulp & Paper Foundation), Donald Haag (Packaging Corp. of America), Peter Hart (WestRock), Larry Montague (TAPPI), Kim Nelson (GranBio), and Matt Szymanski (Green Bay Packaging).

The 2020 Nominating Committee members included: Chair Paul Durocher (HS Manufacturing Group), Bob Feeser (Retired from WestRock), Kelly Frey (CP Chemicals), Jim Haeffele (Essity), Glenn Hanson (Metso), Larry Montague (TAPPI), and Gary Scott (SUNY).

Special thanks are extended to the following TAPPI Board of Director members as they complete their terms in March 2020: Fernando Bertolucci (Suzano) and James Cooper (Retired).