PPI Awards Finalists for 2016

The PPI Awards are the only global awards recognizing and celebrating achievement in the pulp and paper industry.


The PPI Awards competition is now in its eighth year, and in that short space of time the event has become one of the most important dates on the pulp and paper calendar. This year, industry professionals from all over the world will descend upon the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Brussels, Belgium, on the evening of November 21 to experience a gala evening of celebration and splendor.

The lucky winners will walk away with trophies in the various categories that will mark them out as true leaders, innovators and operators in an industry that has many challenges and opportunities, but is always a joy to be working in.

To find out more about the PPI Awards, visit PPIawards.com. Paper360° will report on winners of these prestigious awards in a future issue. Good luck to all the finalists!

The 2016 PPI Awards finalists
for 2016 are:

Bio Strategy of the Year Award

BILT Graphic Paper Products Limited – Bhigwan Unit

Metsä Group

Mondi Group

Resolute Forest Products


Bringing Paper to Life – Innovative Printing & Writing Campaign of the Year Award

Bio PAPPEL – “Made from Yourself” Campaign

iFoodbag AB – ifoodbag

Sappi North America – Holiday Kit

Sappi North America – The Neuroscience of Touch: Haptic Brain, Haptic Brand

Waste Collection and Recycling Co.

Environmental Leadership Award

BillerudKorsnäs AB


Graphic Packaging International, Inc.

Mondi Group

Sappi North America

Smurfit Kappa

WestRock India

Fiber Based Packaging
Innovation Award

Grupo Gondi – 6 Pack Sash

Mayr-Melnhof Karton Gesellschaft m.b.H – FOODBOARD

Metsä Board – “Elevated Drink Box”

Mondi-Industrial Bags – HYBRIDPRO

Sappi Europe – Algro Guard OHG

Smurfit Kappa – HotKan

Financial Strategy Award

Middle East Paper Company

Metsä Group

Rengo Co., Ltd.

Stora Enso


Global CEO of the Year Award

A.S. Mehta, President, JK Paper Limited

Doyle Simons, President and CEO, Weyerhaeuser

Kari Jordan, President and CEO, Metsä Group

Kiyoshi Otsubo, Chairman, President and CEO, Rengo Co., Ltd.

Luigi Lazzareschi, CEO, Sofidel S.p.A.

Sami Safran, CEO, Middle East Paper Company

Walter Schalka, CEO, Suzano

Mill Manager of the Year Award

Jay Hennessey, Pratt Paper Indiana, Valparaiso

Jim Roeder, Kimberly-Clark Corporation, Fullerton, CA Mill

Jonas Eriksson, Södra Cell, Värö Mill

Klaus Peller, Mondi, Syktyvkar

Murray Hewitt, Greenpac Mill LLC.

Pavan Kumar Suri, JK Paper Mills, a unit of JK Paper Limited

Resilience – Managing
Risk Award

BILT Graphic Paper Products Limited – Unit-Ballarpur


Middle East Paper Company

Mondi Group

Smurfit Kappa

Tissue – Innovative Product
of the Year Award

Kimberly-Clark Corporation, North America Consumer Tissue – Scott Tube–Free Toilet Paper

Papelera San Andres de Giles – Felpita Kids

SATU Laboratory – Gel Wipe

SCA – Tork EasyCube

Sofidel S.p.A. – Dissolve Tech

WEPA Group – WEPA Hybrid Fair Fiber

Water Efficiency Award

BillerudKorsnäs AB

BILT Graphic Paper Products Limited – Bhigwan Unit

JK Paper Mills, a Unit of JK Paper Limited, Rayagada, Odisha, India

Kimberly-Clark Corporation

Smurfit Kappa

WestRock India